Barton Creek Elementary Announces 2018 EANESpiration Winners

BCE Eanespirationnws

Barton Creek Elementary in the Eanes Independent School District has announced its 2018 EANESpiration winners, honoring teachers and staff for their dedication to the students and school.

The Educational Impact Award was bestowed on Lindsay Davis, Andrea Hughes, Dawn Shakespeare, and Lisa Taylor for their leadership and commitment and for making a positive impact on the school. Davis was honored for her work as a teacher’s assistant, where her impact has been “unsurpassed” and created “with a smile that is quickly reflected back to her by her students.” Her bond with students has been “directly correlated with the growth they have shown over the past two years.” Hughes “has changed the lives of our students by helping them communicate with others,” and “every time she enters the room it lights up!” Hughes also recently used technology to help Life Skills students greet and take coffee orders from staff. Shakespeare “goes above and beyond for her students” and “is patient with the most challenging students and situations.” She is considered a “wonderful example to those around her. She makes a positive impact on all who work with her.” Taylor “expertly cultivates the growth of her students, her colleagues and herself as a master teacher.” Taylor serves as a Mentor Teacher, a Modified Language Arts Teacher, a Wilson Specialized Reading Instructor, and a Special Education Team Leader, all while showing her students how much she cares about them.

The Heroes Award was bestowed on Sarah Sansom and Laya Sharma for outstanding achievement and going above and beyond the call of duty. Sansom, who fills in for teachers who are absent, “is constantly active throughout the school and is working on something helpful to our students and staff 100 percent of the time.” She is described as a lifesaver and hard work incarnate. “It is likely every member of the staff has a story about how she has helped them in a time of need.” Sharma is one of the school’s “hardest working booster club members and always willing to help and support our students and school the best she can.” Sharma played a large role in creating the Bridge Point Elementary Baristas. “She always has a smile on her face and is a joy to talk to every day! It’s amazing what a cup of coffee and a smile can do to brighten up your day!”

Photo courtesy Eanes ISD. Pictured, left to right: Lindsay Davis, Andrea Hughes, Dawn Shakespeare, Lisa Taylor, Sarah Sansom, Laya Sharma, Principal Tiffany Phelps, Superintendent Dr. Tom Leonard