Forest Trail Announces 2018 EANESpiration Winners

FTE EANESpirations2018

Forest Trail Elementary School in the Eanes Independent School District has announced its 2018 EANESpiration winners for the Educational Impact, Heroes, Innovation, and Good Samaritan Awards.

In the Educational Impact Awards, Tiffany Bibby was honored for “making a positive, noticeable and significant impact. … She visits multiple campuses each day, but always has a smile on her face and brings a positivity to the gym. We are incredibly thankful for her enthusiasm and everything she does to make Forest Trail a better place to learn!” Susan Ormand was honored for creating “an environment of acceptance and caring in her classroom that encourages each student to reach his or her own potential” and “honors that student’s privacy and feeling of self-worth.” In addition to holding a daily Community Circle for students to talk about their thoughts and feelings, Ormand “is incredibly loving toward her students while still having high expectations for them academically and behaviorally, creating an atmosphere for each child to flourish.”

The Heroes Award was given to several teachers for their outstanding achievement and efforts. Nancy Bettersworth “encourages with quiet confidence and a kind demeanor,” and her dedication extends to such acts as learning “all the movements for a musical production so she could be onstage and help a student be successful at performing.” Reanna Brooks was honored for “encouraging healthy interactions within the classroom and on the playground,” as well as implementing “technology with ease with lessons every day.” She is “very kind and caring” and “positive and enthusiastic.”

Mindy Fernandes “has gone above and beyond in supporting Forest Trail by helping with fundraisers, enlisting her husband to be a science fair coach, helping teachers move their belongings to safe areas during our sprinkler installation, moving new teachers into the building and departing teachers out, and helping place our new STEAM carts so teachers could access them quickly.” Fernades’ “love, compassion and dedication show in all she does.” Kevin La Badie serves as a lunchroom monitor who is “truly outstanding with the children” and recently made special efforts with a new student. “He took time with the student so he could feel comfortable and part of the FTE family. Mr. La Badie is constantly doing things like that to make every student feel special. He is a consummate optimist and makes the cafeteria a joy!”

Kay Schroff was honored as “an amazing substitute” who held a long-term sub position this school year. “She always comes in with a smile and she is very flexible! She shows love and compassion for all of our students and we are so happy to have her!” Amanda Stautzenberger was honored as a valuable leader who “goes beyond expectations on a regular basis in order to meet the needs of a diverse group of students.” Stautzenberger “handles stressful situations daily, and does so with a calming and supportive manner. Parents and staff trust her wisdom and feel confident she will do what is best for students.”

The Innovation Award was bestowed on art teachers Kelly Dunning and Rebecca Harrell for inspiring everyone at the school with interesting and educational displays. In particular, they were honored for the student art installation, What Lifts You Up, which “inspired students to recognize their strengths and passions.”

The Good Samaritan Award honored Allison Johnson for her work organizing the annual Forest Trail Food and Diaper Drive, which “not only helps the families in the Austin area that are in need, but it helps our students get the opportunity to help others and remember the world is bigger beyond FTE.” The students “get so excited when they know they are a part of helping others and helping solve a real problem in the Austin area.”

Photo courtesy Eanes ISD. Left to Right. Top Row: Deputy Superintendent Dr. Jeff Arnett, Tiffany Bibby, Nancy Bettersworth, Allison Johnson, Kevin La Badie, Principal Cody Spraberry. Bottom Row: Amanda Stautzenberger, Susan Ormand, Kelly Dunning, Reanna Brooks and Mindy Fernandes. Not Pictured: Rebecca Harrell and Mary Kay Schroff