Cedar Creek Elementary 2018 Eanespiration Winners

CCE Eanespirations 2018

Cedar Creek Elementary School in the Eanes Independent School announces its 2018 Eanespiration award winners:

Amy Puga and Lisa Smith received the Educational Impact Award. Puga is known as a “strong advocate for her students and works hard to ensure their success on a continual basis.” Focused on understanding their strengths and needs, “it is evident she is making a difference in the lives of the students she teaches.” Smith is “upbeat and a go-getter with a lot of spunk, and her students love her!” She puts the progress of her students first and “spends time and energy devising systems and processes that help support their learning.”

The Heroes Award was bestowed on three Cedar Creek staff. Aimee Babbs is “cheerful, helpful, and extremely organized” in her front office role. Excellent at problem-solving, “Babbs is the ‘heart’ of CCE and keeps us all on track.” Linda Hopkins has a “quiet and calming presence” and “never misses a beat.” She “is always so approachable and always finds a way to support our ideas and programs. We love Ms. Hopkins!” Kate McIvor helps create an “atmosphere and safe culture where children not only learn, they more importantly experience learning through outside activities.” The “backbone” of Childhood Development, she takes into account “each child’s current capabilities, their potential, and the diversity of the families and her team … She will always be our hero.”

Lindsey Creel and Ian Smith received the Innovation Award. Creel “connected literature to music in the fall program and made the showcased book the most in-demand title of the year in the school library.” Her music programs exhibit the students’ talents and her calm and patient demeanor helps students “relax and have fun in their performances.” Smith innovated Eagle Eye News, a “student-created, student-delivered and student-led reporting of stories around Cedar Creek,” and also took the team to Westlake High School to learn additional skills from the Technology class. “CCE is a great place because of Mr. Smith!”

Jennifer LaRue received the Good Samaritan Award for her work as president of the Booster Club. “Never shy to find a solution and offer her support,” LaRue is “organized, genuine, and dedicated. We joke that she needs an office at CCE because she devotes endless hours to our school. … We are thankful for all she does for the CCE community!”

Photo courtesy Eanes ISD. Pictured, left to right. Back Row: Superintendent Dr. Tom Leonard, Amy Puga, Jennifer LaRue, Kate McIvor, and Ian Smith. Front Row: Principal Jessica Brown, Aimee Babbs, Lisa Smith, Linda Hopkins, and Lindsey Creel.