Eanes Elementary School Announces 2018 EANESpiration Winners

EE EANESpirations 2018

Eanes Elementary School in the Eanes Independent School District has announced its 2018 EANESpiration winners.

In the educational impact category, the campus support specialist team was honored jointly. Rachael Howard, Elizabeth Harpine, Trinh Phi, and Angela Maldonado were honored for exemplifying “a commitment to making a positive and significant impact on student learning. … The CSS Team is comprised of ‘yes’ women who never say no to any task which will help the students and teachers that they serve. We are fortunate to have them on our campus.”

Additionally, Jennifer Garcia was honored, as she “represents the type of educational advocate that every parent would want to have for his or her child.” Known for her big heart and her determination, Garcia “is not shy to say ‘you can do that’ to a student, or ‘he or she can do that’ to a teacher.” Reshmi Johnson has a classroom that functions like clockwork “with built-in routines and lessons that provide circular review, inspire confidence and student willingness to take risks.” Jane Roetman accepted her teaching challenges this past school year with grace and a growth mindset. “Our students have learned so much this year because of her!”

In the Heroes Award category, Michael Albert was recognized for “building meaningful, fun, supportive relationships with each student” and making sure “the students at Eanes Elementary are not only taken care of, but enjoying their time at school.” Corie Lange was recognized for going “above and beyond the call of duty to support students receiving Special Education services so they can participate in their classrooms both meaningfully and with dignity.” Karen Lopez was recognized for bringing “the most incredible positive attitude, pleasant personality, and sense of humor” to Eanes Elementary and for being “our inspiration for over 10 years.” Gina Palermo “goes above and beyond bandaging up bumps and bruises” by making each student “feel like they are the most important person in the world.” Stephanie Sloss works tirelessly to ensure each day “is an exciting and inspiring learning experience for our students.”

For the Good Samaritan award, Jennifer Brinkman has encouraged students and teachers to take pride in the campus. “She has spent time after school, on weekends or days off weeding, and beautifying neglected flowerbeds around our playgrounds. … She doesn’t do these things for herself, she does them for others. She wants others to appreciate the beauty in small, ordinary things the way she appreciates them.” Sang McDonnell spent countless hours volunteering for the Mustang Mixer PTO fundraiser, as well as multiple other events, including even picking up eggs for chicken hatching! “She is truly helpful in so many ways and always has a smile and positive spirit.”

Cathi Brown and Erin Krieger jointly received an Innovation Award for creating a platform for the students to play The World Peace Game, a game that is designed to help students understand the connectedness of the global community. Carolyn Grant was recognized with the Innovation award for her dedication to “embracing inclusivity and global awareness for our campus community” and promoting a theme of Wonder, Learn, and Grow.

Left to Right. Back Row: Corie Lange, Jennifer Garcia and Stephanie Sloss. Middle Row: Elizabeth Harpine, Cathi Brown, Erin Krieger, Angela Maldonado, Jane Roetman and Jennifer Brinkman. Front Row: Principal Lesley Ryan, Reshmi Johnson, Rachael Howard, Trinh Phi, Sang McDonnell, Karen Lopez, Carolyn Grant, Superintendent Dr. Tom Leonard. Not pictured: Michael Albert and Gina Palermo.